Latest News News from the Foundation

Fit Rovers managers name squads for play on the pitch

25 April 2019

Fit Rovers managers Jan Budtz and Tim Ryan have named their squads for the upcoming ‘play on the pitch’ event, which sees members of the Fit Rovers project gain the chance to grace the Keepmoat Stadium turf.  

Dubbed ‘revenge or repeat’, the match is a direct repeat of 2018’s matchup, albeit with different members of the Fit Rovers project. Former Doncaster Rovers goalkeeper, Jan Budtz, won last year’s thriller in emphatic fashion, condemning Tim Ryan, another former Rovers player, to a bitter defeat.

Seen as a showcase event for members of Fit Rovers, the ‘play on the pitch’ event rounds off the footballing year, allowing members the chance to play football alongside their course mates, and potentially a member of Doncaster Rovers’ first team playing squad. 

Both managers have a plethora of players to choose from, with more players soon to be added to bolster the squads in the lead up to the event.

The match will take place on at the Keepmoat Stadium on Sunday June 2, with the winning side writing their names in the Fit Rovers history books.


With the first of two training sessions set to take place on May 11, Jan has already set his sights on retaining the Fit Rovers trophy. He said: “I’m really looking forward to this year’s Fit Rovers match.

“Last year was really successful and proved to be a great day for all the men involved. Not many people get the chance to don the Rovers shirt in front of their family and friends at the Keepmoat Stadium. It’s a wonderful occasion.

“I know Tim (Ryan) is looking for revenge from last year, but I’m confident my boys can keep ahold of the trophy.”

The 2019 squads are as follows: 

Team Budtz: Gareth Dawson, Ellis Bancroft, Prince Cuniff, Stephen Evans, Dave Perry, Ian Daines, Alan Smith, David Haith, Jon Robinson, Matt Harriman, Dave Sturdy, Charlie Longley, Brian Hindmarch, Mark Johnson, Tappi, Stuart Rowse, Graham Sutherland. 

Team Ryan: Leigh Major, Scott Mantovini, Jase McDonald, Alan Langton, Matt Oates, Jamie Dawson, Mark Metcalfe, Steve Vickers, John Hayes, Kevin Davies, John Barthorpe, Dave Wells-Burr, Mark Tinker, Dave Munroe, Reg Harries, John Hyde, Nigel Beardsley, Lee Rourke, Tony Winstanley.

Fit Rovers managers name squads for play on the pitch